Start of main content

Talk type: Talk

How to improve compression by 20% using machine learning, without wasting 300+ machine years of computation

  • Talk in Russian

More than 10 years ago one well-known lecture company asked speakers's team to help them reduce the size of lecture recordings by setting parameters of the video codec. To sort out all the options of even good old x264 on the fragment of 20 seconds, you need 2*10^15 machine hours, or 500K of Earth ages, so it's time to use non-trivial algorithms of optimization.

Then the solution helped reduce bitrate to 49% and save video quality compared to the preset used by the lecture company. Now after several hours of research and more than 300 machine man-hours, with machine learning and methods of optimization the team managed to build models of different codecs for a wide range of video types. Thanks to this you may save up to 20% of video bitrate and maintain its quality, changing only one string of parameters of codec launch.

Speaker will talk about how not to get lost in thousand-dimensional spaces, how much you may improve the work of codec by optimal parameterization, and why after having tried to implement this solution by themselves the companies come back to him.

Speakers

Invited experts

Talks

Начало основного контента

Доклад

Как улучшить сжатие на 20% с помощью машинного обучения, не тратя 300+ машино-лет расчетов

Зал 1
  • Язык -RU

Больше 10 лет назад один известный лекторий обратился к команде спикера, чтобы уменьшить размер записей лекций через настройку параметров видеокодека. Ведь чтобы перебрать все опции даже старого доброго x264 на фрагменте в 20 секунд, требуется 2*1015 степени машино-лет, то есть порядка 500 000 возрастов Земли, поэтому необходимы нетривиальные алгоритмы оптимизации.

Тогда предложенное решение для этой задачи помогло сократить битрейт на 49% при сохранении качества видео относительно использовавшегося лекторием пресета. Сейчас, спустя несколько человеко-лет исследований и более 300 машино-лет расчетов, с помощью машинного обучения и методов оптимизации команда смогла построить модели разных кодеков для широкого спектра типов видео. Благодаря этому можно экономить до 20% битрейта видео при неухудшающемся качестве, меняя лишь одну строчку параметров запуска кодека.

Спикер расскажет, как не теряться в тысячемерных пространствах, насколько можно улучшить работу кодека оптимальной параметризацией, и почему компании, попробовав реализовать такое решение самостоятельно, возвращаются к его компании.

Спикеры

Программа